Ruminations on the Digital Realm

Jan Stedehouder

WordPress 2.5 – first experiences

This weekend I upgraded my weblog to WordPress 2.5. Normally, no big deal. I have been using WordPress for some time now and am happy to work with. The upgrade instructions never posed any problem, nor did they this time.

The only thing bothering me was the necessity to manually update my small collection of plugins. With WordPress 2.3 there was some improvement, since it would indicate updates were available for the plugin. 2.5 takes this to the next level: updating the plugins from within the admin panel. Instead of deactivating the plugin, going to the plugin site, downloading it, uploading it to the server, unpacking it and reactivating it again, it is now simply a matter of clicking on one hyperlink.

Mind you, there are some reports that not all plugins cooperate as nicely but I had no problems whatsoever. Now I wonder, does Joomla 1.5 has a similar feature? If so, it might be worth the time and effort to migrate my Joomla 1.0.x based websites to 1.5.

Anyway, WordPress has gotten better again. Kudos to the team.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

