Ruminations on the Digital Realm

Jan Stedehouder

DesktopBSD day 28 – Going back and forth

After working two months with desktop oriented BSD’s I have more than enough material to write about. A lot of it was written down in the two 30 day series, but -fortunately- it will also end up in some real life publications. In this period I am working on two articles about PC-BSD and DesktopBSD. One article will be published in a new BSD-related magazine and one article is meant for a Dutch computer user group with it’s own bimonthly magazine. Maybe there will also be a third article about both BSD’s.

I reinstalled both DesktopBSD and PC-BSD for the articles and read up on all the material I gathered over the last two months. It was an affirmation that these two BSD’s are solid candidates for the open source desktop and deserve far more attention than they are receiving now. Once I have finished writing the various article I will use all the building blocks to write a book about migrating from Windows and Linux to BSD-based open source desktops. I have no idea whether a publisher is interested in it or not, but there are various ways of publishing. This the Web 2.0 era.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

