Ruminations on the Digital Realm

Jan Stedehouder

Adding Ubuntu Studio packages to Feisty Fawn

The information provided yesterday about adding the Ubuntu Studio theme to my Feisty Fawn box opened the way for another experiment. With the Ubuntu Studios repositories added to my sources.list it should be possible to install all specific packages via Synaptic. I know, you can do it also via the commandline, but I was curious how it was organized.

Using “ubuntustudio” as search phrase revealed the list of specific packages. First, the three ‘main’ sets: ubuntustudio-audio (and -plugins, to be complete), ubuntustudio-graphics and ubuntustudio-video. Then the “look and feel” materials for artwork, GDM, theme, wallpapers, icons, usplash and an all-out ubuntustudio-look metapackage.

In creating my “own” Ubuntu W2L edition I added most music, graphics and video programs one by one, using the “apt-get install” instructions (with multiple programs after “install”, of course). I was curious how many of those programs found their way into Ubuntu Studio. So I tagged the whole list in Synaptic and installed all.

When everything was finished a reboot was required and found myself with a system without the X server. It didn’t work anymore. dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg wasn’t a big help, but another reboot and a very fast ESC was. Ubuntu Studio apparently uses another kernel for low latency. With GRUB in sight I could boot into the generic kernel. From then on I edited the /boot/grub/menu.list file and removed the entries for the new kernel. Just to be sure I did a /usr/sbin/grub-install.

Now, what I don’t know is how this will influence the functionality of some programs that come with Ubuntu Studio, but since this was only an experiment this was the fastest solution I needed. The list of packages that was added to my Feisty Fawn box was impressive. Really impressive. It would be nice if the Sound & Video menu was somewhat more organized (one long list now). I saw all that I used in the W2L edition and then some more. Does Ubuntu Studio live up to it’s goal to give artists the software they need to get working instead of first mastering a new program? Hard to tell, but it took me only five minutes to create a great sounding drumloop in Hydrogen and I am not an artist at all. And knowing the prices for some professional closed-source packages Ubuntu Studio is great value for it’s price, not only because it is free, but because it is good.

Tags: Linux, Ubuntu

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Adding Ubuntu Studio packages to Feisty Fawn

  1. Just did what you did! Worked a treat!

