Ruminations on the Digital Realm

Jan Stedehouder

Being a Teacher

A pupil is not above his teacher, but everyone that is perfectly instructed will be like his teacher. (Luke 6:40)

I have seen this scripture many times, but mostly from the perspective of the student. We learn from the people around us, if we allow ourselves to be taught. In essence it is true that we can not learn more than the teacher has. When we do outgrow our teacher it is due to our access to multiple teachers, sources of information and our ability to combine, imagine and stand on other’s schoulders.

Yesterday I found myself thinking about it from the viewpoint of the teacher. How can I be a perfect teacher? How can I share what I know? The change in viewpoint I not strange, now that I got more responsibilities in the congregation and maybe- some additional ones at work as well. Responsibilities that involve teaching, counseling and coaching. And the book of course. I have my knowledge, skills and experience to build on, but what can make me a perfect teacher?

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

